The survey you have requested is not currently available.

2020 Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant Application

The Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant 

Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant
This grant honors our chapter founder and first president of the Washington Metropolitan Area Chapter of The American Payroll Association (WMAC), Maureen (Reed) Brown

Answer just four questions to apply yourself or nominate a colleague.

The Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant will be presented at the December 2018 WMAC Chapter Meeting

What is the Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant?
The Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant was established in 2003 by the Board of Directors of the WMAC to honor the chapter founder and first president.  This grant will be presented annually to one outstanding member of the WMAC.  The grant is for recognition of personal and professional commitment to the payroll profession. The grant is designed to help the recipient continue their education and stay up to date on payroll topics.

The recipient of The Maureen (Reed) Brown Education Grant will receive:
One year membership in WMAC-APA - AND - choice of one of the following:

  • Free registration for all WMAC chapter lunch meetings, January 2021 - December 2021.
  • Registration for the 2020 Virginia Statewide Payroll Conference and hotel cost combined up to $500 for grant recipient (cannot be transferred to others).
  • Reimbursement for the cost of FPC or CPP Exam in 2021.
  • Enrollment in the WMAC CPP/FPC study group and text materials for Fall 2021.
  • Reimbursement for APA National Training (no travel reimbursement; $450 limit) from January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2021.


Candidate Requirements:

  • Current member of the WMAC in good standing
  • Members of the WMAC Executive Committee are not eligible
  • Grant Committee members are not eligible


Completed applications must be submitted by Saturday, November 30, 2020.

Take Survey

2020 WMAC Payroll Professional of the Year

Each year the WMAC Payroll Professional of the Year Award is presented during the December Chapter Meeting in recognition of outstanding service to the payroll community.  It is one of the highest honors the WMAC bestows upon its members, the most prestigious award for the WMAC, and one of the most for the payroll profession.

The WMAC Payroll Professional of the Year is chosen by an independent committee.  This award recognizes a professional who stands out for their accomplishments, contributions, and outstanding leadership abilities.

Nominate someone you know who has a strong work ethic and is dedicated to providing outstanding support in the area of payroll.  This can include their involvement in the WMAC at all levels.

Judging Criteria:

Achievements:  Detail the achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the payroll profession and its positive visibility.

Awards:  List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received.

Professional Service:  Cite offices, committee assignments and other examples of the nominee’s service to their local payroll organizations.

A list of previous WMAC Payroll Professionals of the Year can be found under Member Recognition.

Completed applications must be submitted by Monday, November 30, 2020.

Take Survey